Long Time No See

Oysh! It’s been a long time since I posted. I have been bogged down with the normal stuff but also with a big project my husband is working on that is taking over our lives. I will (maybe) post more about that later. I have also been feeling a little uninspired. I never sit down at the keyboard without a fully developed idea of what I want to write. I get inspired and then the words just tumble out and it’s very easy. But I haven’t felt that way lately.

So I’ve been doing what I do when I get a case of writer’s block: reading. Reading reminds me that what may seem like the minor details of life can make for the best posts. Many days, my boys will ask me questions which will spark hilarious conversations. I think to myself, “I have to write this down! This is too much!!” But then I get started on a load of laundry or with dinner preparations and the moment is gone. When I try to remember later what my children said that made me laugh, I come up short. If I could remember, I know these inconsequential conversations would probably make for delightful posts.

I have been reading two books. Olive Kitteredge by Elizabeth Strout, a Pulitzer-prize winning series of short stories that all have a connection to the title character.  Olive is not always the heart of each story, but she has a role to play and each chapter reveals a little more about her. I’ve also been reading David Sedaris’ Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim. Sedaris, like Strout, is a master at weaving an absorbing story from seemingly ordinary occurrences – although the ordinary occurrences in Sedaris family life may be a little . . . odd.

I recognize I’m not writing prize-winning stories here on my little blog.  But reading acclaimed writers has taught me that anyone’s life can make for a good story.  If I can make readers laugh or smile in recognition when I tell you about some of the unexceptional things going on in my life, with my family, etc., that works for me!  Here’s to reading about people who are different from us . . . but just like us at the same time.

3 thoughts on “Long Time No See

  1. Great share Melinda! What I have started to do is when in conversation with my daughter or anyone and something comes up that I may want to come back to later, I ask them to text me what we just touched on or I stop them for a second and go to my notes app and write few words down to come back to later. I have to say it has helped with those uninspired moments :) Also you are so correct, everyone has a story to tell and we never know who that story might help!

  2. The kids say funny things everyday it seems. I love the idea of jotting it down because I know the next day I will have forgotten.

Leave a Reply

